Upside Down Tomato Plant

Way back in May I was pleased to find out that I wasn’t the only one who had an interest in upside down tomatoes.  Heather over at Oh My Stinkin Heck had a post about them as well. I was all too excited to share my interest about growing tomatoes, in a basket, planted upside down.  You ask … Why in the world would you want to do something like that?  Well my reason for the upside down growth is space.  I currently live in a second floor apartment.  I have a wonderful balcony but I don’t have any ground to call my own which means I don’t have the ability to grow things the way most people would. I also can’t plant them in a box or barrel because I have this wonderful, sweet, loving little boy living in my house that likes to play in dirt so everything I would plant, he would quickly remove and dispose of so he could get to the dirt.

So … I decided that I love fresh tomato sandwiches … those you make from a freshly picked tomato, while it is still warm from the sun. The only way to have one of those is to grow your own tomato and pick it when it is just ripe enough to be sweet and juicy and warmed by the heat of the day.  In order to do that I would have only one option and that was to hang it from the rafters so to speak so Lil Man couldn’t get hold of it.  I accomplished this by purchasing one of those hanging wire baskets with the coconut shell lining. The basket I bought had the perfect size hole in the bottom and all I had to do was cut the coconut liner down the side, cut a small hole in the bottom of it, place the tomato plant through the hole, up into the basket and wrap the coconut liner around the stem right about the first leaves.  I then filled the basket with Miracle Grow potting soil, added sufficient water, and hung the basket from a hook placed on the eve of my balcony.  I continued to water my plant every night and soon it began to grow and after several weeks of water and TLC it has started bearing fruit.  I have a total of 6 tomatoes growing now and there are some fresh blooms which will eventually lead to more tomatoes. You can see photos here.

My daughters, and several of my neighbors think I’m insane … so be it … I can’t wait till the harvest of my first ripe, sweet, juicy, red tomato. I think I may invite all of my neighbors who have laughed about my plant over to my place so they can watch me devour the fruit of my harvest while they salivate and wish they too would have planted an upside down plant!!

Next summer I’m shooting for planting a cucumber plant, a sweet pepper plant, a jalapeno plant, and some cilantro.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. OMSH
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 23:13:13

    You rock.
    Plain and simple.
    I’m gonna get a shot of my “leaning” tomato plants … they got too heavy for the shepherd’s hook (or the ground became too moist).
    Lots of blooms, but no tomatoes – I think I planted to late for the heat.

Leave a Reply

