Thanksgiving Dinner Menu

In just over a week we will sit down as a family to have Thanksgiving dinner. I reflect on past Thanksgiving celebrations and remember the abundance of food that was left over when dinner was done. I then remember saying “next year we’re not going to cook this much food” but it never fails, year after year we over cook for Thanksgiving and end up eating leftovers for days. It looks as if we may do the same thing again this year. When cleaning up after dinner I hate, hate, hate taking all that time to put food in storage containers and try storing in it’s appropriate place be it refrigerator, cabinet, or counter top. As much as I hate doing that I equally love, love, love Thanksgiving leftovers when it comes time to snack and eat later. I love me some turkey sandwiches and oh how I love leftover dressing and oh my I love me some leftover pecan pie or pumpkin pie or mashed potatoes … OH MY … I’m starving just thinking about it.

Another favorite of mine is to wake up early on Thanksgiving morning, make a cream cheese danish for breakfast and let that cook while getting the bird ready for the oven, then popping in front of the TV to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.  I’ve watched it almost every year since I was a wee little girl and look forward to it every year and even more so this year since Lil Man is older and will sit cuddled with me to watch it also.  Forget the all day football … I’m not up for that so we always steer clear of the channels that carry nothing but sports.  We like to find the old Christmas favorites in the evenings or better yet just sleep all afternoon.  I have to be really careful though … about three years ago I had an allergic reaction to TURKEY of all things so I can’t honestly fall into a dead sleep for several hours after eating turkey for fear of … well you know … it ending up being a ‘dead’ sleep.  As long as I take Benadryl a couple of hours before we eat and again shortly after eating I’m ok … if I forget and don’t take it then I’m M.I.S.E.R.A.B.L.E for the rest of the evening. I’ve already bought the Benadryl now all I have to do is remember to take it!

Being in the new house this year the girls are already begging to put up the Christmas tree. I’m not sure I want to do it this early. We’re getting a live tree this year and we’ve got a little boy whose turned into somewhat of a climber so putting up a tree this early will only give him something else to climb on, turn over, and well … just destroy and I don’t want to have to put it up more than once.  I think we’ll hold off a couple of weeks on the tree but maybe we’ll hang the stockings and decorate the mantle or maybe put lights on the front porch … something but not the tree … not yet!

Share with me what you do for the holiday. What does your Thanksgiving menu consist of? Any thing you want to share? I’m always looking for something new to spring on my unsuspecting family!  When do you decorate your tree? Do you decorate inside and outside?  Share … peek my interest!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rhi
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 11:54:26

    It’s just my dad and I at Thanksgiving so we don’t do much. I’m trying to talk him into going OUT this year.

  2. Jenny
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 05:19:46

    My favorite is sweet potato casserole with plenty of brown sugar. My mom makes it and it’s sooo good! That, and dark meat turkey.

    I wanted to let you know about the contest I am having right now. It is for a two week taster pack of Glow Mama drinks! They are great for moms and pregnant women. Stop by and enter when you have a minute 🙂

    http://babyfingers.blogspot.com/2008/11/glow-mama-drink-made-just-for-you.html

Leave a Reply

