Today … I Feel HORRIBLE

I feel stuffed, swollen, bloated, and just plain horrible today … and there’s not one darn thing I can do about it. Why?

Let me explain …

I went yesterday for a weight loss surgery followup. My day started with a 90 minute dietary class which I found very informative and really did enjoy. After the class I wanted to weigh in, hoping to have lost the magic number of pounds to be able to go to the surgeon. While I did lose more weight I am still roughly 9.3 pounds from my goal weight which puts me at about 4.3 lbs away from being able to go to the surgeon. I was disappointed but also encouraged to work a little harder.

While I was at checkout and paying the final installment of the $450.00 total that I have to pay, the nurse asked if I would like a “free” session with the dietician to discuss what I can do to lose the extra 4.3 pounds. Initially I declined because those who were with me were getting restless. The program director came up and once again encouraged me to meet with the dietician. I finally agreed and I ‘think’ I’m glad I took the time to meet with her. (Notice I said ‘think’!)

Her suggestions is why I’m feeling like crap right now. We first went over everything I eat on a normal day and the times that I eat. I don’t snack. I eat three meals a day. I thought I was eating too much and I needed to cut back … NOOOOO … she told me just the opposite. She said that I wasn’t eating enough and my body was going into starvation mode which means my metabolism is shutting down, thus I’m not losing weight. She made some suggestions and I have followed them to a “T” today … I’m stuffed … I feel bloated … and I feel downright miserable … BUT … I’m not giving up. I’m going to give her suggestions a shot and see what happens when I go back next week for a weigh in. She assured me that if I followed her guidelines and continued to exercise/walk daily then next week I should see the additional 4lbs fall off. If not … THEN I am going to starve myself 🙂

Not really … but I honestly don’t see how I can lose weight and eat this much food. Today I have had:

1 can diet coke (I woke up EXTREMELY thirsty and this did the trick)
11oz Myoplex Lite Ready-to-Drink EAS Protein Shake – Chocolate Fudge flavored
Grilled Chicken Salad
32 Oz Crystal Light/Water
1 Pure Protein bar

I still have dinner & an evening snack to eat in order to follow her recommended dietary guidelines. I honestly don’t have a clue where I am going to put anything else. I’m already trying to figure out what I can have for dinner that give me the nutritional value that I need but won’t require a lot of room to put it in. I may have another protein shake then have fresh fruit for snack … or maybe I won’t have snack and eat dinner later than usual.

Whatever I decide I feel like it’s only going to make me more miserable than I am already. Maybe have I do a hard walk I won’t feel so bloated. All I can say is that should I show a weight gain on Wednesday of next week, when I have to weigh-in … I’m going to have a word of prayer with my dietician!!

Who ever thought that while on a journey toward weight loss surgery someone would tell me I wasn’t eating enough food to lose weight?? Strangest thing I’ve ever heard of!!

Cross your fingers and say a prayer that this works and I can see at least 4.3 pounds lost next Wednesday. I’m ready to take the next step and see the surgeon.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. M&Co.
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 16:46:26

    Wow that doesn’t really sound like a lot of food you are eating.

    But one of the things they tell us on WW is to be sure and eat all the points to which we are entitled (both daily and weekly) and eat and drink all of the “healthy checks” they have. I’ve hit a plateau, and they told me to be sure to eat all my points and to make sure I get my 8 servings of fruits and veggies, my 3 servings of milk products and my “good oils.” Last night it was a bit of a struggle, but I got everything in but my last milk product. Hopefully, it will help me break out of my plateau.

Leave a Reply

