Another Step & A Few More To Go

Not a lot has happened since my last post. I’ve continued to watch my diet with increased proteins and low fat foods. It’s been a struggle but worth every fight I’ve had to have with myself to walk away from things I know I’m not supposed to eat.

I did see the surgeon on Friday, September 2nd. I got a lot of good information and encouraging news from him. He is a very nice man and easy to talk with. He went deep into detail about what the surgery is for, how it works, how it is done, and what I can expect afterwards … both the good and the bad. I’m going to stay positive that nothing bad will happen and I will be nothing but successful with this tool that will help me with my journey to be a happier, healthier ME.  After all, isn’t that what this is all about anyway?

I’m hoping to have insurance approval by the end of this week/first of next at the very latest. Once I have received the insurance approval I will be scheduled for the two final tests … Stress Echo to make sure my heart is okay, and an Endoscopy to make sure there isn’t anything that would hinder success after the surgery. Once they staple off the larger section of my stomach they won’t be able to go back in there without opening my my abdominal cavity so they have to make sure there isn’t anything in there now that could pose a problem down the road. When those two tests are complete then I’ll be ready to schedule my surgery. Depending on how long my insurance takes to give approval, I could conceivably have my surgery within 4-6 weeks.  I was hoping more line 3-4 but that’s really pushing it.  Everything depends on the insurance and believe me when I say that I will drive those people crazy until they get their job done and file the paperwork.  It’s a basic form letter they have to send to the Insurance Company so it shouldn’t be that hard to do.  As soon as I have dates I’ll let you all know.

Thank you again for taking this journey with me!

Leave a Reply

